Thursday, October 6, 2022

Latest Posts

Countries Qualified for FIFA World Cup 2022 Qatar

- Advertisement -

There are only a few months until the next FIFA World Cup for men. The 2022 Qatar edition will be the first tournament held in the Middle East, as well as the first to take place in November and December of the calendar year. The event will be held in five cities across Qatar: Lusall, Al Khor, Al Rayyan, Al Wakrah, and Doha.

Total number of teams participating in the World Cup Qatar?

The men’s World Cup in Qatar in 2022 will feature 32 teams before expanding to 48 teams for the 2026 edition. Since France 1998, the FIFA men’s World Cup has featured 32 teams in each of the last six editions.


Joining host nation Qatar at the tournament will be 31 other countries that will earn a ticket to the big dance through regional qualifying matches. It has been predetermined how many nations will qualify from each region:

Africa (CAF): 5

Asia (AFC): 4 (plus 1 playoff qualifier)

Europe (UEFA): 13

North/Central America & Caribbean (CONCACAF): 3 (plus 1 playoff qualifier)

Oceania (OFC): 1 playoff qualifier

South America (CONMEBOL): 4 (plus 1 playoff qualifier)

The final two qualifiers for the 2022 World Cup will be determined by two intercontinental playoff matches in June 2022, featuring one nation from each of four different regions: Asia vs. South America and North America vs. Oceania.


The World Cup begins on November 21, 2022, and concludes on December 18, 2022. The 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar will begin with four matches.

The host nation, as well as 19 of the 32 teams, have officially qualified for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. The remaining 13 positions will be filled in the coming months. This international break will continue to complete qualification for the Qatar 2022 World Cup, which now has 19 teams qualified.

In addition to the host nation of Qatar, ten European nations qualified for the tournament. With five qualifying matches remaining, Brazil was the first South American team to qualify, and it was joined by three other South American teams. Four more Asian teams have mathematically clinched a place in the tournament through qualifying.

Following the official qualification of Saudi Arabia and Japan on Thursday morning, teams from Europe, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, and Africa are now attempting to qualify during the March international break.

Ecuador and Uruguay, in fact, booked their tickets to Qatar as part of the CONMEBOL qualification on Friday night.

For the time being, Qatar (as hosts) is at the top of the list of teams that have already qualified for the 2022 World Cup this winter. They’ll be seeded, and the rest will be determined by FIFA rankings.

The winners of each European group will play for a spot in the playoffs on Tuesday, March 29. Meanwhile, Ecuador and Uruguay qualified during the international break, after Brazil and Argentina had already qualified. Peru can at the very least qualify for the playoffs.

In addition, with a draw in Costa Rica, Canada will play in their second World Cup.

Moreover, The 5th place team from CONMEBOL will play Australia and the United Arab Emirates in a playoff to determine who will represent Asia in the intercontinental playoff.

Following the successful completion of the first sales phase’s random selection draw period, FIFA is providing fans with an additional opportunity to secure tickets ahead of the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 Final Draw. Following the payment period, which ended on Monday, the remaining tickets from this phase are now available for purchase at until March 29, 2022, at 11:00 CET.




Latest Posts


Don't Miss